Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Indonesian Barbershop

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For quick trim

 

 

Last weekend, I went back to my hometown (Bandung). And, almost always, I went for a hair cut.

S-Barber-shop-R0002009-martosc-BW

Pangkas R(am)but Kharisma (Kharisma Barbershop)

 

 

I have several reasons why I prefer to do it back home:

  1. I’m trying to help local economy as much as I can (yeah, right… )
  2. I’m stingy, and I think getting hair cut in Singapore is overprice (Ah, this is sounded more like me)
  3. Barbershop in Indonesia normally gives you a free head and shoulder massage (Yay!)

 

 

Anyway… there I went.

 

 

If you notice, a standard display in an Indonesian barbershop is the poster(s) of the ‘latest’ hairstyle — a catalog of inspirations, if you will.

S-Barber-shop-R0002030-martosc-BW

Top’s collection

 

 

Where did they get these posters? Someone’s Grandpa’s attic? :-)…

I wonder if anyone has ever point one of the images and say “I want that one!”

I think most of the time, people will just say the style he wants using numbers — 0 means cut/shave to the skin, while (if I’m not wrong) 1 is cut to 5mm, 2 is to 10mm, 3 is to 15mm, and so on.

 

S-Barber-shop-R0002026-martosc

This guy is having 1-1-1… 5mm on the top, side and back

 

 

Seems like he’s almost done, and I am next.

Like always, I also go with 1-1-1

 

 

@Ciumbuleuit, Bandung, Indonesia

 

4 responses

  1. giry

    pulkam lebaran om?

    August 5, 2014 at 15:44

    • Yoih… tapi sekarang dah balik ke Singapura

      August 5, 2014 at 19:48

  2. giry

    sarua ari kitu mah. Urang oge pulkam, ngan nya eta, ukur saminggu. Boboran poe kadua tos angkat deui ke Perth :-(

    August 6, 2014 at 20:15

    • Lumayan lah saminggu ge… Sarua lah, urang ge poe kadua tos ngabring deui. Nu peunting mah sempet mudik hehehe

      August 7, 2014 at 05:18

Thougths, anyone?

