Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

AirCon Street

S-AirCon-Street-003DSC 1945-martosc

Welcome! It’s cool inside — it’s super-hot outside.

 

 

When I first came to Singapore in 2007, I was having problem adjusting to the ‘lifestyle’. It’s hot outside, but super-cold when you are inside most buildings.

During that time, I worked in a super-cold building, with centralized AirCon. I tell you, it was not a healthy experience. I always leave the office feeling something is wrong with my throat and chest.

S-AirCon-Street-003DSC 1952-martosc

 

 

I shouldn’t complaint. A lot of people works in a harsher and more hostile environment. Working outside on high noon is definitely worse than working in office with AirCon. Beside, the new workplace (at a different company) has a more pleasant and controllable Air Conditioning system. I have nothing to complain.

Anyway… looking at this alley here, just one small part of Singapore, can you imagine the power consumption for the whole country? The world? And what about the environmental impact?

 

 

S-AirCon-Street-003DSC 1966-martosc

 

 

S-AirCon-Street-003DSC 1960-martosc

 

I’m not here to preach.

But, be wise.

Use fan :D…

 

 

*Upper Circular Road, Singapore

 

8 responses

  1. Nice capture and story GM. We use the ceiling fan more and not a lot of AirCon, even in the summer. It took a while to get used to a bit warmer indoor temperature but now I am used to it. To the point that indoors I am always cold! So I always have a jacket or sweater and scarf handy anytime – since I often have to bundle up indoor.

    Environmental impact of AirCon (as well as other things that humans do) is pretty bad. I’m sure you’ve heard that the Artic sea ice is melting, polar bears are in danger. Have you heard of plastic island? (try googling it). I do what I can. Reuse and reduce the use of plastic and paper. Last resort: recycle.

    October 23, 2012 at 22:45

    • I agree with you, Jenn. “I do what I can” is the key message here.

      3R is culturally encouraged in Japan. I don’t feel so much community involvment here in Singapore :-(.

      October 24, 2012 at 10:40

      • 3R is not very encouraged here in Colorado either. Only major cities in the US seem to encourage it. Very few places have recycle bin. I have one at home so I often just bring it home to recycle (yes I am that determined :)).

        October 24, 2012 at 11:20

        • Wow, good for you… And also mother nature hehehe.

          By the way, what do you do if the recycle bin is full? I mean, although not encouraged, but is there a recycle center near your place or you recycle it yourself?

          October 24, 2012 at 14:05

          • The trash service has a recycle service that you can subscribe to. You have to pay more $ but they come every 2 weeks to pick it up. I have seen some grocery store that has recycle bins – and some customers come in with their recycle stuff from home and put it in their bins! It is a nicer grocery store though so I think that’s why they didn’t say anything :).

            I am surprised Singapore does not encourage recycle, considering how clean it seems. Maybe you should try to write to the people who suggested to ban chewing gum?

            October 25, 2012 at 02:18

            • I see.

              Well, you can see a lot segregated waste bins for recycles in public places of Singapore. But, unlike Japan, it is not enforced on household level.

              Anyhow, we should do what we can, right? :-)

              October 25, 2012 at 06:11

  2. Nice pictures and story! Never seen so much AC but agree with you about why do people use it so cold!!? Here in London what really annoys me in the winter is that it will be freezing below zero outside but then you walk into a boiling hot store in your coat and hat and scarf etc and inside all the staff are wearing t-shirts and suddenly you are sweating!! I just want to scream at them to turn the heating down!! They insist on having it turned up so high wasting money, energy and hurting the environment!

    October 26, 2012 at 00:12

    • Yeah, I don’t understand it either. I thought there’s a reason we have the term ‘standard room temperature’…
      Use it! :D…

      October 26, 2012 at 10:17

Thougths, anyone?

