Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Caught! #004

Caught004-DSCF2844

“Is he taking my picture?”

 

 

Caught004-DSCF2845

“Let’s pretend he’s not here. When I open my eyes, he will be gone! Be gone!”

 

 

Side story:

Let’s continue with the rant.

Another thing that is a little problematic with X100 is the framing and composition. The frame is shifting according the focus point, making it a bit hard to adjust your composition. And don’t forget about parallax error — which can be worse for me because I’m using spectacles.

This is not a deal breaker because eventually one can get the hang of it. One day is not enough to get used to it.

  

Another problem that is not a deal breaker is battery life. The other day, I took two fully-charged battery, which only last about 4-5 hours of walking around and taking photos. Certainly I haven’t optimize the menu/settings, and I still use the LCD screen quite often to change some settings or review the photos. But, 4-5 hours for two batteries are just sad.

Again, it may have been due to the battery condition. I don’t know how old they were, and if they take good care of them.

Not a deal breaker, but still a minus point.

  

Some people said that having an X100 is like a marriage — it’s a love and hate situation. I happen to have a happy, loving marriage, so I want to have a camera which gives something better than love-hate situation.

To wrap it up, as of today, I don’t think X100 is the right camera for me. Maybe one day I can borrow/rent another X100, one in good condition… then perhaps I’ll change my mind.

Meanwhile… the search continues.

  

*Little India, Singapore

 

18 responses

  1. Nikon has just released the perfect camera for me, unfortunately my wallet doesn’t quite agree with me yet. Mabe in two years…

    September 26, 2012 at 20:42

    • Did you mean D600? Wow… hope two years can be shorter for you, Rifqi :D…

      September 26, 2012 at 22:02

      • Indeed. Full frame has always been out of reach but this one feels like it might be attainable. What\s annoying is that it\s around 600 USD more expensive here in Sweden than in the US. Hopefully the price will come down while I keep saving and finishing the rest of my kit.

        Hope your perfect camera is more within budget when you find it.

        September 26, 2012 at 22:48

        • To put it simple, “it is not perfect if it is not affordable” … :D… to me, cost is part of performance hahaha.

          Wow… so much price differences in Sweden. Good luck, mate :D…

          September 26, 2012 at 22:52

  2. That first photo is fantastic. Her expression is priceless :D

    Sorry to hear that you didn’t get on with the X100…But it’s important to use something *you* like, as opposed to something that everyone else is telling you is good.

    September 26, 2012 at 21:03

    • Haha… thanks, Mike.

      I agree… but I’m afraid my “perfect camera” is not exist yet :D…

      September 26, 2012 at 22:01

  3. Nah ini yang paling saya takutkan… ketangkep basah. :P

    September 27, 2012 at 12:37

    • Haha, gak usah takut. Tenang saja, kita kan tidak berbuat salah :-).

      Malu sih mungkin iya, tapi lama-lama ya biasa aja.

      September 27, 2012 at 15:04

  4. Saya mau kaya x100 ahh, salah fokus: nice to know that you have a happy, loving marriage. Good for you!

    September 27, 2012 at 20:55

    • Hahahaha… what if I told you I wrote that because I know you’re going to read it? :D

      September 27, 2012 at 23:06

      • What if i told you that i wrote that because i know you would nag me to read this post if i don’t? :D

        September 28, 2012 at 07:05

        • I don’t nag… Just like you don’t snore :D

          September 28, 2012 at 16:27

          • huh? it’s supposed to be a happy and loving marriage?

            :)

            funny banter GM!

            October 16, 2012 at 23:33

            • It is … this is what we do to make a happy and loving marriage.:D…

              October 17, 2012 at 06:06

  5. Have you ever been caught and had the person saying something rude to you?

    I’ve tried street photography once (took my camera downtown over the weekend and walked for a couple of hours). I just took a photo of a woman who smiled at me – I smiled back. I was still smiling as I walked away and saw this punk (spiky hair, tattoo everywhere) and he said “wiped that damn smile off my face.” That freaked me out and I haven’t tried to photograph people since. It happened during the day and there were a lot of people around so I don’t think anything will happen to me but still. I am sure that if I am a burly guy I would not have gotten that comment. So any tips for what to do in the future? (maybe I should drag my husband along…)

    October 16, 2012 at 23:38

    • Honestly, no… the “harshest” thing I got was people giving a sign for me not to take photograph. And that’s it. I think it’s just bad luck for you. I don’t know the situation in your town, but generally people don’t mind to get photographed… some would even ask for it :D…

      PS: I’m no burly guy in any means, but it works out fine for me :-)… you should try again. Good luck! :-)

      October 17, 2012 at 06:12

      • Yea my husband will not want to follow me around for hours anyway…

        Maybe it’s a country/culture thing. Or I’m just not lucky that day.

        October 17, 2012 at 06:26

        • Knowing that a lot of people are shooting the street in your country, I think you just had a bad day.

          October 17, 2012 at 19:51

Thougths, anyone?

