Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

100 People with Phone #097

Phone097-DSCF2948

“Hello, Police Station? Yes, I have a situation…. “

 

 

Phone097-DSCF2950

“I don’t know how to explain this. I think it’s better if you come and look it yourself.”

 

 

“… and bring back up, please… lots of them… “

 

 

Side story:

More rant about the X100…

This time is the metering system. This may not  be considered as a rant because this is not entirely X100’s fault.

On the first day I rent the camera, I was using it in manual mode. By doing that, the results are consistent.

So, what I always did was: half-press the shutter button to wake up the sensor, read the meter for general lighting, put in the settings and change the settings when required (e.g. -3 stops for shadows, -2 stop for shade, etc). The funny thing was, the meter was jumping up and down every time I half-pressed and hold the shutter button. I found it odd but let it go as the results are consistent.

  

The next day, before I return the camera, I went to Chinatown to do another try. This time I use aperture priority mode. That is when I realize the camera metering is faulty as it gave different readings for the same scene.

  

In the end, I couldn’t say it’s a deal breaker — can’t really blame Fuji or X100 as a product because I’m using a faulty camera. But it’s a minus point nonetheless.

  

*Little India, Singapore

 

7 responses

  1. Muthe

    reminds me of one episode in the big bang theory, where Sheldon Cooper called the animal center because there’s a bird outside his apartment window :D

    September 26, 2012 at 09:24

    • Hahaha… yes, I remember that episode. I wonder what Sheldon will if he encounters this kind of situation :D

      September 26, 2012 at 22:03

      • Muthe

        of course he would have called 911 :D (and made a sound of cat hissing or screamed “go away bird!” :p)

        September 27, 2012 at 11:31

        • And all the birds will go like… “BAZINGA!”

          September 27, 2012 at 11:55

  2. I really like the caption on this one lol!

    October 17, 2012 at 06:26

    • Glad that you like it, Jenn :-)…

      October 17, 2012 at 19:52

  3. Pingback: Year 2012 in Pictures « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

Thougths, anyone?

