Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Fuji X100 for a Day

X100-DSCF2829

Let’s start this journey with closed eyes, an open mind… and a little prayer.

 

 

 

If you remember, back in July I mention that I want to get a new camera that can serve me better — and that I already have a camera in mind. That’s right, it was a Fuji X100.

The camera has a lot of good reviews. But it also comes with several quirks and premium price. I need to test it out first before buying it.

So, I rent one for a day… and I’m soooo glad I did.

I’m not going to give a full review. There are more than enough competent people done it, so my reviews won’t make a difference. I’m not going to talk about the image quality as well. At this level, IQ is not my concern. I trust the reviews and examples on the net.

My biggest concern is whether the camera can work well for me; for my style of shooting. If not, can I adapt? Can I make it work? At the end of the day, I’m afraid I can’t eliminate nor adapt to the quirks.

 

 

Several problems that I can’t cope includes: focusing (manual and auto), framing and composition, reviewing the photos, metering and battery life. I will tell more about this on other posts. I have to admit that there is a possibility that I was renting a lemon — it’s an old rented equipment after all. It may not be in the best condition.  It’s going to be hard to prove, though. I don’t want to buy a new camera just to prove it.

 

 

Anyway, for now, just enjoy some snapshots I took. Definitely not the best to judge — it’s a first day after all. The post-processing is minimized to crop and resizing only.I would want a more desaturated/subtle color.

Enjoy…

X100-DSCF2848

Went to Little India with a friend… met this friendly guy, the first guy who greet us and thought we were tourists.

 

X100-DSCF2874

Everyone is busy with their gadget

 

X100-DSCF2876

 

 

X100-DSCF2879

Yawn…

 

 

X100-DSCF2883

 

 

X100-DSCF2894

 

 

X100-DSCF2895

 

 

X100-DSCF2902

Smiling VolksWagen…

 

 

X100-DSCF2911

Sign in four languages… enjoy Singapore’s diversity…

 

 

X100-DSCF2935

 

 

X100-DSCF2937

Enjoying the ride…

 

 

X100-DSCF2942

 

 

X100-DSCF2944

 

 

X100-DSCF2955

 

 

X100-DSCF2959

 

 

X100-DSCF2977

 

 

X100-DSCF2993

 

 

X100-DSCF2994

 

 

X100-DSCF3003

 

 

X100-DSCF3010

 

 

X100-DSCF3013

 

 

X100-DSCF3027

 

 

X100-DSCF3029

 

 

X100-DSCF3039

 

 

X100-DSCF3076

 

 

In the end, I still think it’s a great camera all around.

It’s just not for me.

Or perhaps I was just expecting too much from it? As I expect it to perform better than my D90?

 

 

Either way… the search for the perfect camera (for me) continues…

 

 

*Little India, Singapore

 

8 responses

  1. Kalau saya tertarik sama Sony RX100.

    September 26, 2012 at 21:02

    • Sony RX100 gak punya viewfinder — a deal breaker for me :D… tapi mungkin pas untuk kebutuhan mas mpig? :D

      September 26, 2012 at 21:58

      • Nah, ini yang sering jadi pertanyaan. Ada apa dengan viewfinder? Apa kelebihannya ya mas? Kalau saya perhatikan kok malah merepotkan. Maklum belum pernah punya kamera yang ber-viewfinder.

        Dibanding Fuji x100, Sony RX100 memang lebih cocok (dompet dan speknya). Tapi lebih cocok lagi iphone5 atau samsung s3. Soalnya saya fotografer pemalu. Ga ingin ketahuan kalau sedang candid. Tapi beli kedua ponsel itu rasanya rugi.

        September 27, 2012 at 10:36

        • Masalah viewfinder, sepertinya masalah kebiasaan. Untuk saya, adanya viewfinder (apalagi yang optik) akan sangat mempermudah untuk melihat dan komposisi. Sering juga jadi menghilangkan distraksi dari sekeliling karena mata saya fokus/terbatas hanya pada scene yang terlihat dari lubang intip.

          Beberapa kelemahan LCD menurut saya adalah: banyak distraksi, susah dilihat kalo siang hari, posisi kamera agak jauh dari badan; sering goyang.

          Ini berdasarkan pengalaman pribadi sih. Selera dan pengalaman orang lain bisa beda.

          Use what’s working for you, mate :-)

          September 27, 2012 at 11:53

  2. wah, udah lama gak mampir ke mari,.. udah banyak cerita rupanya… sekarang cerita dari singapore,.. Nice and great as usual, :)

    September 29, 2012 at 17:07

    • Halo Hesty… terima kasih :-). Iya nih, sekarang sudah pindah ke Singapura. Sering-sering mampir yaakk :D

      September 29, 2012 at 17:59

  3. Pingback: Ricoh GRD III — First Day! « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

  4. Pingback: Year 2012 in Pictures « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

Thougths, anyone?

