Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Abandoned Gas Station

S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9503-martosc

Abandoned, empty, left behind, unused…



I have interest in abandoned building.

Why? Well, I think it has story. It’s like an open book full of imagination, a time capsule with stories from the past.

I haven’t got a lot of experience in finding and exploring abandoned building, so I was excited to see this abandoned gas station when we (I & #Q) were on a road-trip to Izu Peninsula, Japan.

Hope you enjoy it…

S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9491-martosc

Yokohama GT Special



I couldn’t get inside because the doors were locked. But there’s a broken window at the back; big enough for the camera.

S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9496-martosc



S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9495-martosc



Walking around, there are plenty of interesting items to find

S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9492-martosc

Preset Air Meter



S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9502-martosc

I wonder what these were for…



S-Abandoned-Gas-Station-002DSC 9499-martosc

Heater for the lonely cold nights… and winter days, too.



I wish I can explore more of these in the future… somewhere.

By the way, if you are interested, check tokyotimes.org for more ‘haikyo/ruins’ shots (link). Lee Chapman has been an inspiration for me.



*Izu Peninsula, Japan


4 responses

  1. somehow reminds me of the hollywood zombies scenes or mutated disease outbreak..

    June 6, 2012 at 00:34

    • I believe that’s the interesting part, Alan :D…

      June 6, 2012 at 08:06

  2. benisuryadi

    it’s quite different with what we have in Indonesia, isn’t?

    June 7, 2012 at 01:30

    • You mean the gas station? The business model is different, I think.

      June 7, 2012 at 06:39

Thougths, anyone?

