Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Parenting Moments #005

S-Parent005-002DSC 5816-martosc

“Don’t be sad, baby” *poke…



Side story:

It took me awhile (I’m not that smart), but now I understand another ‘meaning’ of normal/standard lens.

A 50mm lens would have the same ‘magnification’ as human eyes. It has the same perspective and lens compression — note: not to be confused with angle/field of view; For angle of view, 28mm lens (on APS-C camera) would be more ‘accurately’ represents human eyes.



It’s a revelation for me. Now, it’s easier for me to imagine a composition/framing with 50mm without lifting the camera to my eye. So, expect to see some more shots from 50mm next week, because I’m trying to practice this ‘new’ knowledge.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. 24mm is still my favorite focal length for my D90 :D.



*Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan


2 responses

  1. 50mm is an addictive lens. So easy to ‘see’ without looking through a viewfinder…But it seems like you’ve worked this out ;o)

    February 3, 2012 at 23:01

    • Yeah, I just worked that out quite recently… probably because I always use my left eye to compose. I would have known this sooner if I compose with my right eye and keep my left eye open. Regardless of the sensor (crop, full-frame or 35mm film), 50mm is just like our eyes, no? :D…

      the field of view is too tight on crop-sensor, though. That’s why 24mm is still my favorite focal length for Nikon DX :D…

      February 3, 2012 at 23:10

Thougths, anyone?

