Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Street Lights

S-Street-Light-002DSC 5566-martosc

Walking home, alone — with beer in the plastic bag. Party?





Side story:

Most of the time, I just stroll around the neighborhood with nothing specific in mind. Sometime I find an interesting scene. I love how street lights can be dramatic or maybe even cinematic. When I find an interesting scene/lighting, I sometime wait for a subject that can enrich the scene. It can be a minute or two, sometimes more.

For this particular scene, I wait for about four minutes.



This is how I first find the scene

S-Street-Light-002DSC 5561-martosc

Interesting scene, but it is lacking something..



So, I wait for a subject to make it more interesting. Please note that I was at 1/30″, f/2.8, ISO 800. The shutter speed is definitely not enough to freeze people movement, so I was expecting a little motion blur. I could’ve bump it to ISO 1600 and get 1/60″, but don’t think it will help much. So, I decided to leave it as is.

I wait for two minutes and took the first photo (featured), and take another in portrait orientation.

S-Street-Light-002DSC 5567-martosc

I actually think that portrait orientation is better for this scene — but for this photoblog theme, landscape orientation is better.



Then I was thinking that maybe a “glimpse of face” would make it even more interesting. So I wait another minute for someone who is going up the bridge, and took the next shot.

S-Street-Light-002DSC 5574-martosc

But, unfortunately, no face.



I was too late. He already passed the light when I click the shutter button.

I could have wait and give it another try (with another subject), but I was late for another appointment, so I left.



In the end, I think the first photo is the most interesting one.

Hope you enjoy it :-)…



*Nagatsuta, Kanagawa, Japan


4 responses

  1. Chloe

    nice compositions

    January 29, 2012 at 18:05

    • Thank you, Chloe.

      January 29, 2012 at 20:16

  2. You’re right about the lighting having a cinematic effect. Nice work!

    January 31, 2012 at 19:47

    • Thanks, Mike…

      January 31, 2012 at 20:32

Thougths, anyone?

