Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Many Silhouettes

S-Many-Silhouette-002DSC 5355-martosc

Many people… but no faces…



Is it odd that I don’t have any problem in taking pictures of people at close range, but (often) don’t like to publish their faces when I don’t really have to?

Maybe it’s because somehow deep inside I still feel that I’m breaching someone’s privacy when I do that — despite that it is perfectly legal to take photo of people in public.

I like portrait, but I guess portrait of a stranger is another thing.



Perhaps it’s just my comfort zone.



*Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan


7 responses

  1. I think it’s perfectly normal to feel that way. I love this shot and all the activity in it.

    January 11, 2012 at 08:29

    • Thanks, Jenn. Glad that you still like it although they are only silhouette :D…

      January 11, 2012 at 09:01

  2. TBM

    Cool photo

    January 11, 2012 at 22:20

    • Thank you :-)…

      January 11, 2012 at 22:35

  3. Muthe

    Even though it’s “just” silhouette, I still can see a lot of things happened. So I guess, it doesn’t matter if you’re a bit reluctant to show the stranger’s face, because you can still shot their gestures, activities without showing their faces. Bravo for the photos. I really enjoy your street shots ^^

    January 12, 2012 at 00:36

    • Thank you for the kind words, Muthe.

      You are right, I can still shoot the gesture and all — and that’s what I always do. However, in this post, I’m just wondering a question to myself: was it “preference”, or was it “comfort zone”? Normally, I would say it’s preference, but recently I feel it’s comfort zone.

      January 12, 2012 at 08:51

  4. Pingback: Year 2012 in Pictures « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

Thougths, anyone?

