Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Identity

S-Identity-002DSC 4148-martosc

The City of Angels, The Land of Rising Sun



This is a photo of a friend and her tattoo. Let’s just call her CG. The tattoo represents her identity, and this is what she said:


“The tattoo on the left side says L.A. (Los Angeles) with a red rose in her hair. I’m originally from Los Angeles (The City of Angels) and I’m very proud of my heritage (Mexican-American). I have lived in Japan for a total of 5 years and it has become a huge part of my life and identity.

After the Earthquake and tsunami, I realized just how much I love this country and felt it was so important for me to stay here and not run away. I wanted to honor both of these important places and countries and decided to do so in the form of the tattoos.”



*Chiba, Japan


8 responses

  1. G I

    thanks for sharing the photo. You really are broadening my horizon in photography

    January 3, 2012 at 21:09

    • Not really sure what you mean “broadening my horizon in photography”… but, well, okay… sure, no problem :D…

      January 3, 2012 at 21:14

  2. TBM

    Cool. I love hearing the stories behind people’s tattoos.

    January 3, 2012 at 21:42

    • I agree. More often than not, tattoo has deep meaning/background.

      January 4, 2012 at 08:42

  3. Nice shot and story behind the tattoo. I love the light and the landscape in the background.

    January 4, 2012 at 02:36

    • Thanks, Jenn… I need to use a reflector to achieve this photo :D…

      January 4, 2012 at 08:43

  4. Beautiful tattoo and beautiful picture. Love to see the effect from the sun.

    January 8, 2012 at 19:31

    • Thanks, Helder.

      January 8, 2012 at 21:03

Thougths, anyone?

