Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Closing Gate

S-Closing-Gate-002DSC 5239-martosc

As we are approaching the closing gate of year 2011, please allow me to tell you a (long) story…



This is a story of my 2011, photography-wise. It’s all about me :D… It may be boring for you, but I still want to do this. I’m sorry :D.



First, let’s talk about achievements:

As of now, I have posted (at least) one post per day, everyday. And, since I already prepare another post for tomorrow (a compilation of my personal favorite photos of this year), I can say that I (will) post (more than) 365/365!

To tell you the truth, I’m not sure if I can keep up this one-post-a-day next year… with all the (hopefully) works and other stuffs. But, let’s just see. Aim high!

In 2011 only, according to the EXIFs, I have shot more than 12,500 photos (with my D90, totaling of 15,424 photos since 2010). That’s about 35 photos a day!

I post 365 posts with at least one photo per post, some have more. Let’s assume I published 500 photos, then the success rate (of being posted in the blog) is about 4%. Doesn’t sound impressive at all, but let’s hope it can get better next year.



Now, let’s talk about gears:

In 2011, I bought 3 used camera bodies (not all for me), 3 used lenses, a flash, a used tripod, and other accessories. On the other end, I sold 1 camera body and 3 lenses.

Hmmm… that’s quite a long list. It amazes me how I can spend so much money on this hobby. If you know me very well, I’m sure you will be amazed, too (note: I’m not rich, and I’m known to be stingy, especially to myself).

Do I regret it? Some, yes… but most are not. I made mistake, but instead of regretting it, I chose to learn from it.



Now, gear-wise, I feel like I already have everything I need (want? Oh, I still have a lot of wanted items :D). I now have my favorite set-up for street shooting and traveling light. I don’t think I would want to add anything more in that department.

But desire-to-acquire is never to be taken lightly — I may need more gears for other photography works. I hope not, though. I hope I can survive next year.



How about you? How’s 2011 treating you?



*Meiji-Jingu, Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan


7 responses

  1. good to hear a recap at the end of the year… Hope you get a lot of great images next year…:)

    December 31, 2011 at 02:05

    • I certainly hope so. Thanks. Hope you get a lot of great images next year, Georgie. Cheers!

      December 31, 2011 at 08:09

  2. GM,
    Late comment but I’m still going to post anyway.

    Thanks for posting your summary. I enjoyed it and didn’t find it boring at all. Thanks for sharing your “success rate.” I think mine is probably similar to yours or lower, so you’re not alone, :).

    2011 was a good year for me. Photography-wise, received 1 camera and 1 lens as a gift. Bought 2 lens, and a tripod. I also felt like I have everything I need. Currently having no desire-to-acquire, but I’m sure it’s because I’m still on a new lens high. Hopefully it will last for a while!

    Non-photography-wise, I’ve ended my 2 year long affair of baking through a cookbook. 95 cakes!!! And by doing so without gaining any weight, it was a big accomplishment!

    As far as money spent on hobby. This is why it’s called a hobby – for you to spend money that may not seem reasonable to other people. But we all need to enjoy life in some ways and unfortunately, it often involves money. And I am grateful to have several hobbies. Life is so much more fun with them.

    Didn’t mean to write such a long comment, but here it is. I hope it is okay :).

    January 4, 2012 at 02:34

    • No problem about the long comment, Jenn. It is always welcome.

      Haha… I guess that’s the ‘problem’ with shooting digital — success rate doesn’t sound impressive in numbers.

      Hope the desire-to-acquire can be reduced for at least a year, Jenn.. (yeah, you wish :D)…

      Hahahaha… “without gaining any weight” are the key words here. I really need to learn it from you :D…

      I agree… life is so much more fun with hobbies. I know I deserve to spend some money on my own happiness :-)…

      Thank you for the thoughtful comment, Jenn. Cheers!

      January 4, 2012 at 08:52

  3. Pingback: Stripped Down « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

  4. Sounds to me you had a great year!! :)
    To me, in terms of photography it was the Cannon 5D year. So a huge investment from my wife, and a huge pleasure from my side. :)
    Still have some gear to buy but not so urgent needs. only wishes. Still want my 300mm lens and my 85mm 1.2 or my 50mm f1.4. Will see.. 2012 is not a great year for portugueses (at least economically wise). But hope never dies. :)

    January 8, 2012 at 19:38

    • Yes, 2011 was a great year. Wow, seems like there are still a lot of gears that you want to buy :D… good luck! and hope that 2012 will treat you nicely :D…

      January 8, 2012 at 20:54

Thougths, anyone?

