Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Kinugawa-onsen Ropeway

S-Kinugawa-Onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3813-martosc

A trip to visit the monkeys…



Another interesting spot at Kinugawa-onsen area: Ropeway to the peak of Mt. Maruyama (Japanese).

There are several things that you can see there…



First stop, as mentioned in the caption, is to visit the monkeys

S-Kinugawa-onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3824-martosc

Behind the bars, looking cute, hungry but smelly.



Next stop, there’s a wooden platform for people to enjoy the view

S-Kinugawa-onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3817-martosc

Q, with her toki-toki :D…



S-Kinugawa-Onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3818-martosc

And here’s the result from the same spot — different lens, though.



S-Kinugawa-onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3823-martosc

Interesting lighting and clouds..



Last stop, as I was expected, a shrine at the top of the mountain.

S-Kinugawa-Onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3833-martosc

Torii and leading pathway



S-Kinugawa-Onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3834-martosc

More torii…



We didn’t have much time there, as there were only two ropeway rides left.

Heading down to ropeway station, I took one of my favorite photo of that day

S-Kinugawa-Onsen-Ropeway-002DSC 3845-martosc

My favorite person, in my favorite color :-).



*Kinugawa-onsen, Nikko, Tochigi, Japan


6 responses

  1. If I ever find myself in Japan, I’ll pick your brains on post processing. Try and stop me.

    November 20, 2011 at 10:23

    • I’ll take that as a compliment. Thanks, Christakis :D… although I have to say that I didn’t do anything special in post-processing. It’s very simple, and I apply the same thing for most of my photos :-)…

      November 20, 2011 at 11:45

  2. Nice set…Looks like an amazing place.

    November 21, 2011 at 20:10

    • Thanks, Mike… the place was surreal.

      November 21, 2011 at 20:46

  3. Amazing sky, Amazing view! Pitty the monkey part had nets, otherwise it would be interesting to see what the monkeys would do. :)

    November 22, 2011 at 20:55

    • I just realize I haven’t reply to your comment here, Helder. I’m sorry.
      I believe the monkeys were in a big cage because they sometime get aggressive… but who wouldn’t be aggressive when some strangers invade your house, right? :D…

      December 18, 2011 at 07:32

Thougths, anyone?

