Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Lady of the Forest

S-007Q-002DSC 2533-martosc-v

Jacket for your autumn collection…



So, my wife bought a new jacket, and I bought a flash — actually, I bought it about 3 months ago :D.

Anyway, I want to learn some portrait work, more specifically in strobist work, so I dragged her to model for me.


S-010Q-002DSC 2592-martosc-v



I think, when possible, using reflector with natural light would be best for portrait work. But, it’s kind of hard to handle it if you are working alone. Off-camera flash would be a better choice.

I took all of these photos with off-camera flash + small portable softbox.



The whole process took about an hour.

It didn’t take that long until she got tired and gave me the am-tired-let’s-go-home look.


S-012Q-002DSC 2620-martosc-v



I took about 160 photos that day (including the test/chimping shots), and quite happy with (only) about 15 of them. They aren’t perfect (technique-wise), but I’m quite happy with them.

These three are my favorites. Hope you enjoy it, too.



I still have a long way to master this thing, but I certainly enjoy every moment of it — hope Q will want to model for me again in the future :D…



*Minami-Machida, Tokyo, Japan


12 responses

  1. Looks good and I definitely know that look :p I would never be able to get 160 shots from my wife though, I’m happy if I get 20 :p

    October 20, 2011 at 21:50

    • Thanks, Rifqi. I’m sure you can do better than this :D…
      Well, 160 photos were including 30-40 test shots… The success rate was still terrible :D…

      October 21, 2011 at 07:55

  2. Well well.. hello Mrs. GM. :P :)
    And nice to hear also that you are playing with flash and softboxes. :)
    The pictures look great!

    October 20, 2011 at 23:51

    • Thank you for the kind words, Helder. I think flash and light modifier are very interesting; but I don’t want to use it for street photography hahaha…

      October 21, 2011 at 07:57

  3. Nice pics. I like the autumn collection captioning.

    Your wife is very patient. My husband is usually done after 3 shots :).

    October 22, 2011 at 06:19

    • Hahahaha… perhaps you can buy him a new jacket, and ask him to model? :D

      October 22, 2011 at 09:53

  4. these photos are lovely and love the jacket

    October 22, 2011 at 08:55

    • Thanks, Chloe. I’ll make sure the lady gets your comment about the jacket :-)

      October 22, 2011 at 09:54

  5. Hello Mrs. GM :D
    I always like how sharp your photo Mister :D I wanna ask, what application did you use for post-processing?

    October 22, 2011 at 10:28

    • Thanks, Fajar. I will give your regards to Mrs. Gm :D…

      Applications for Post-processing: Nikon’s ViewNX for Raw-processing to export as JPEG, and then further post-processing using GIMP. All of them are freewares. Other freeware that I might suggest are Photoscape and Picasa.

      Hope it helps.

      October 22, 2011 at 14:22

  6. Thanks Mister, maybe later I’ll try GIMP for post processing.. :D
    Btw, I rarely shoot in Raw, because of shoot in Raw mode eat so much memory in my HD -_-;

    October 22, 2011 at 18:23

    • Yeah, the raw file size is very big — that’s why I only kept selected Raw files.

      I don’t have a lot of archive because I only kept Raw files of the ones I published. I kept JPEG files for trips or other special occasions.

      I think shooting in Raw is very essential if you like to post-process your photo.

      October 22, 2011 at 23:16

Thougths, anyone?

