Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

100 People with Phone #057

S-Phone057-002DSC 2779-martosc

On stiletto, in silhouette



Side Story:

A friend of mine was asking this question:

“Why don’t you write the camera settings under your photo, like a lot of people do? Is it a secret? Don’t you want to share?”



Well, of course I want to share. If not, I will not upload the photos in the first place.

The main reason I didn’t do it — I bet you can guess already — is because I’m lazy. If it’s a crime, then I’m guilty. If it’s a sin, then I’m sorry :D.



Beside laziness (which is always the culprit for a lot of my negative sides), I also have other reason(s).

This photoblog doesn’t have many readers, and I think I can generalize the readers into three categories:

  • People who aren’t really into photography
  • People who are really into photography
  • People who are starting to get into photography



For the first group, well, they don’t care about camera settings. They only care about the photo and/or the story… so why bother?

For the second group, I’m sure just by looking at the photo, they can roughly guess what the important settings are… so, again, why bother?

For the third group, well, they might want to learn the settings… and for them, I won’t remove the EXIF — you can always check the EXIF using this, or for Firefox users, install that and use the right-click command to see the EXIF. It will give more information than just aperture, shutter speed and ISO settings; but also metering mode, exposure mode, focus distance, etc.

If the information is not enough, they can always ask by posting a question in the comment section. If I know the answer, I will gladly help.



Nevertheless, I still put the camera and lens as photoblog categories.

To be honest, the main reason I do this is actually for my own benefit. I kind of need them because that is how I archive my photos in my computer.



Now, if I may ask, do you think it’s important for me to put the camera settings under the photo?



*Tsukimino Station, Kanagawa, Japan


8 responses

  1. Nice photo, my friend :o)

    As for the camera settings, I don’t really think it’s important. When people post them on their blogs I occasionally look if I’m interested in how they achieved a certain look, but more often than not I skim over the EXIF data.

    I don’t post them myself, but with film I never really make a note of it anyway….so anyone’s guess is as good as mine! :-D

    October 14, 2011 at 21:08

    • Thanks, Mike.

      Haha! Yeah, you make a very good point on shooting film there, mate… Just curious though, if you can have film with EXIF embedded, do you think it’s going to be a good thing?

      October 14, 2011 at 21:51

  2. interesting to hear you use EXIF to archive your images? Could you care to share it in an email? :)

    I also got something to add- to the readers, Martos, if I may?
    “What learning can possibly come by seeing EXIF data under each image? It’ll be like learning to swim via correspondence classes. All you got to do is get out and shoot with whatever camera you got- dslr, p&s or mobile. Make mistakes. Learn. Make mistakes, again..”

    Right?

    October 14, 2011 at 21:47

    • I think you got the wrong impression, Georgie. I don’t use EXIF for archive; I use Camera and Lens for archiving system. My photos are grouped (in folders) based on the lens and camera that I use.

      I find it easier to manage them this way, rather than sorting them by time. Well, except when I have special occasion, e.g. trip to Sado; it will have a separate folder regardless of the lens/camera.

      I agree that practice is the most important thing. But I don’t agree if you just go to a swimming pool and jump right in. It’s not like “swim or sink” kind of situation. A combination of practice and study would be best.

      Learning from other people’s EXIF is not going to be very helpful. But, on the other hand, learning from our own EXIF can be extremely helpful. That’s how we discover our mistake and learn from it, right? :-)

      I hope it make sense :D…

      October 14, 2011 at 22:08

  3. Seduction is here… :) At least I see it. :)
    EXIF is not so important for me.. the story is much more important. Although I do share it on my blog. But only because it’s automatic (i’m lazy too!)

    October 19, 2011 at 23:43

    • Stiletto and crossing legs equal seduction? :D….

      Hahahaha…. yes, it takes one (lazy person) to know one :P

      October 22, 2011 at 09:51

  4. GM, Great photo and I like what you write about sharing EXIF. Someone asked me to start sharing my settings for my Snap Thursday. But I’m also lazy so I haven’t done it. I agree with all your arguments about it and the categories of people. If they want to know they can just ask right? :) And thanks for sharing the link to check out the EXIF data.

    Georgie – as a beginner, I don’t always check out EXIF (I agree that would be useless). But sometimes it is helpful. Every now and then I come across a photo that’s so different I’d love to know the EXIF.

    October 22, 2011 at 06:35

    • Glad that we share the same understanding, Jenn… and thanks for the kind words :-)

      October 22, 2011 at 09:52

Thougths, anyone?

