Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Willer Express

S-Willer-Express-002DSC 2345-martosc stitch

07:30 AM bus, almost ready to depart…



This is only the third time of my experience with Willer Express, but I can tell you that I really like their service.

Of course, they are not as fast and comfortable as Shinkansen, but the price was also less expensive — about only 1/3 of the bullet train ticket.

You can also save some more if you use the night bus service (don’t have to pay for the hotel. This can be essential for budget traveler/student like me and my wife :D…)



By the way, do you know what my favorite Willer Express’ feature is?

I don’t think you can guess, so I’ll just show you the photo:


S-Willer-Express-002DSC 2349-martosc

Da Hood! (modeled by Q)



I don’t know what’s the official name is — let’s just call it “Da Hood” :D.

Like its name, it’s basically a hood that you can use to cover your face.

It is extremely useful to cover your ugly-sleeping face :D… (note: I’m not saying my wife is ugly when she’s sleeping. She is ALWAYS beautiful :D. You know what I mean).

If you don’t want to use it, you can simply fold it up.



I have never seen anything like this anywhere else, so I’m assuming it’s only in Japan, one of the Japanese personal space thingie. But then again, maybe I’m just not that well-traveled.



So, CMIIW, have you seen anything like this elsewhere?



Side story #1:

The distortion that you see on photo #1 is because the photo was stitched from 4 photos; not lens distortion.



Side story #2:

I can officially say that AF 24mm f/2.8 is my favorite walk-around lens. For the whole week traveling, I only use this lens and I’m happy with the results… Sometimes I want extra reach, but for most of the time, I can just move closer. I sometime want it wider, but I can just shoot panorama to get what I want.

My favorite combo for now would be AF 24mm f/2.8 and AF-D 50mm f/1.8 — these are the lenses that I will bring everywhere I go, when I’m not planning in shooting anything in particular. They are small and light, and would cover most of my needs.



*Somewhere between Niigata and Tokyo, Japan


12 responses

  1. the hood seems such a simple but effective idea..

    October 3, 2011 at 02:19

  2. Yes, I digg the hood too.

    October 3, 2011 at 04:45

  3. Thanks for the comments, guys.
    Now I’m wondering how long would it takes for this idea to reach airline industry… especially for the long haul flights… :D

    October 3, 2011 at 07:17

  4. I love da hood too! It definitely looks more comfortable than those eye mask thingy that they gave on the plane. And I agree that it’s probably just in Japan, as I’ve never seen it anywhere else.

    Congrats on “announcing” the 24mm as your favorite walk-around lens :).

    October 3, 2011 at 12:00

    • Hopefully I won’t have to eat my own words anytime soon, Jenn.
      I want to stop buying lens — and start buying something else instead hahaha… :D…

      October 3, 2011 at 12:38

      • I know we’ve discussed this…. but…
        Good luck with that! And once you’ve figured out how to stop buying (wanting to buy) lenses, lemme know LOL.

        October 4, 2011 at 05:18

        • Hahaha… Thank you! Luck is all I need :D…
          Please note that I’m thinking to stop buying lens, but will start buying something else, such as: new camera body or other accessories :D…

          October 4, 2011 at 14:21

  5. Loving ‘da hood’ =D

    October 3, 2011 at 23:58

    • Glad you enjoyed it, Mike :-)

      October 4, 2011 at 07:27

  6. First time I see “Da Hood”. :) Looks like a great idea to sleep on the road! :)

    October 19, 2011 at 23:51

    • I agree… it’s a private room on top of your head :D

      October 20, 2011 at 09:17

  7. Pingback: Window Seat « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

Thougths, anyone?

