Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Old Friend

S-Old-friend-002DSC 1374-martosc

“It’s good to see you again. How are you today?”



Side story:

I’m always amazed when I see old people on the streets of Japan.

I’m talking about people in their 70-80s.

They look, well, old and fragile. But they are still strong enough to walk or ride bicycle here and there, doing errands like grocery shopping or posting mails.

I even saw some of them are still working.

I’m not sure whether it’s because they have to, or it’s because they want to.



And do you know that Japan has the longest life expectancy of any country in the world?



*Suzukakedai, Tokyo, Japan


15 responses

  1. Nice lines on this one :o)

    September 15, 2011 at 21:17

    • Thanks, Mike :-)

      September 15, 2011 at 22:47

  2. It is the perfect lifestyle… enjoying life to its limits. :)

    September 15, 2011 at 22:04

    • Of course, live life to the fullest :-)
      Hope everything is good with work, Helder

      September 15, 2011 at 22:48

      • It’s starting to be..thanks! :)

        September 15, 2011 at 23:11

        • Glad to hear that, Helder. Have a nice weekend :-)

          September 16, 2011 at 15:59

  3. I like the lines too :). I heard about Japan’s life expectancy. It also ranks No.5 in highest suicide rate in the world. Ironic.

    So can you find out their secret? To be clear, I’m referring to life expectancy, not suicide :).

    September 16, 2011 at 01:13

    • Thank you, Jenn. What? Rank no.5? I thought it’s No.1 :D…

      What I’ve learned from Japan: plenty of exercise (including walk to and from station), eat healthy food in proper amount, less stress, enjoy life to the fullest, etc :D…perhaps the normal BMI standard has something to do with this, too? :D…

      September 16, 2011 at 09:07

      • I thought it was No.1 too for suicide – but I checked and it was untrue.

        Does eat sushi/good fish is included in the list?

        September 16, 2011 at 09:24

        • I assume it is… there are many fish meals here, and most of them are not fried — mostly raw, grilled, steamed, boiled, etc.

          September 16, 2011 at 09:38

  4. yes.. I recently read in the paper about the current japan life expectancy stats..

    September 16, 2011 at 02:53

    • What do you think about this, Georgie? I mean, looking from your expertise.

      September 16, 2011 at 09:08

      • I have been taught some details regading population statistics during med school. As long as old people are generally healthy and taken care of, old age is ok. (How is it generally in Japan?) Japan now has elderly people the same number as younger generation. So in a few years time, say 20, the population might start to shrink. In India its the other way round, and population is almost exploding at its seams. And hence, lot of problems arise.

        I have much more info but I think I’ll save them for some other time ;)

        September 18, 2011 at 15:38

  5. nice shot, i like the how they were unaware of you taking the photos – its so natural

    September 17, 2011 at 18:52

    • Thanks, Chloe. Hopefully they weren’t aware of me because they were busy chatting — not because they have eyesight problem :D.

      *the person behind me stopped walking and looked at me rather curiously, though :D…

      September 17, 2011 at 19:31

Thougths, anyone?

