Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

100 People with Phone #055

S-Phone055-002DSC 0706-martosc

Do you remember the last time you use a public payphone?



I remember my last time was in October 2009; when I first move to Japan.

I don’t have a mobile phone yet, so I have to use the public payphone — and I remember I only use it once.

Before that, I can’t remember I ever use a payphone; other than when I was in high school (which is about 13 years ago).



I don’t think a lot of people is still using it.

It’s more comfortable to use mobile phone.

Practically, everyone has (at least) one.

My mother has 5 active mobile phones. Haha!



Back to public payphone; although only a small number of people is still using it, I think their existence is still important.

It can be used at least for emergency call.



*Yamato-shi, Kanagawa, Japan


11 responses

  1. Great capture. I think the last time I used a payphone was probably in the late 1990’s!

    September 2, 2011 at 22:03

    • Hahaha… I wonder if it’s the same case for everyone?

      September 2, 2011 at 22:38

  2. I think my last time might have been in high school also…
    Great capture! :)

    September 2, 2011 at 22:55

    • Thanks, Helder. So, public payphone is a high school thingie, ya? :D

      September 3, 2011 at 06:52

  3. The only time I use public payphone nowadays is at the airport when I’m traveling internationally. I think it’s the one place where you can for sure find lots of public phones. But they use credit card now, vs. coins in the old days!

    September 3, 2011 at 01:34

    • Very good point, Jenn. Thanks.

      September 3, 2011 at 06:54

  4. ane terakhir kali ngeliat di daerah pedesa-an om pas lagi sepeda-han,..itu pun tinggal pos nya aje,… teleponnya entah udah kemana di kilo-in jadi besi tua mungking :D

    September 3, 2011 at 18:51

    • Weladalah… yah, nasib barang tua di negeri kita, mas bro…

      September 3, 2011 at 19:53

  5. probably around the last time i shot film!

    September 3, 2011 at 21:03

    • Hahaha… when was the last time you shot film, Greg? :D

      September 3, 2011 at 21:12

Thougths, anyone?

