Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Tokyo Turkish Mosque

S-Turks-mosque-stitch

Happy Eid, my Muslim brothers and sisters — Happy Eid 1432H to you all.



Today, Muslim all around the world are celebrating Eid ul-Fitr — one of the biggest day in Islamic Calendar.

In times like this, I really miss my mom’s cooks :D…



Side Story:

This photo was stitched from three photos. They were taken using iPhone 3G, and stitched (automatically) using Microsoft Ice. MS-Ice is a very nice software, I would recommend it for easy, automatic photo-stitching software. Of course, automatic means certain limitation. Know your limits, and have fun! :D



*Yoyogi Uehara, Tokyo, Japan


12 responses

  1. Happy Eid GM! :) Ramadan is over, right?
    Just one question: is it allowed to take photos inside a mosque? :)

    August 30, 2011 at 21:16

    • Thanks, Helder. Yes, that’s right. Ramadhan is over :D.
      Well, I don’t see sign prohibiting taking photo and I also saw a lot of people taking photo… so, I took several myself.
      I assume it’s okay to take photo — well, not during the praying anyway :D…

      August 30, 2011 at 21:32

  2. That’s a really nice photo from iPhone. Looks super wide :). I’ve heard about ICE, need to check it out.

    Since you take the photo with iPhone, do you lean on a chair or something? To make sure that the photos are similar, in terms of starting point/focal point? (hope this makes sense).

    August 31, 2011 at 02:45

    • Thanks, Jenn.

      No, I didn’t lean on a chair. Well, I was sitting on the floor, and sweep the view from left to right. To make sure it works, I just sweep little by little, so that about 1/3 of the first photo (the right part) is pretty much the same with 1/3 of the second photo (the left side). Am I making sense here?

      It’s not that hard, really. Try it once, and I’m sure you can understand what I mean. This would be harder if the stitched photos consisted of 2×3 photos for example.

      I think the hardest part of shooting panorama with iPhone is that I can’t manually set the exposure. So, if the exposure level is varying (due the lighting condition), the results will not be pleasant.

      Good luck and have fun, Jenn!

      August 31, 2011 at 08:08

  3. Mas, maapin saya lahir batin ya… :cry:

    September 2, 2011 at 00:17

    • Sama-sama, Asop. Mohon maaf kalau ada kesalahan.

      September 2, 2011 at 07:27

  4. It makes sense GM. Thanks for the explanation.

    September 3, 2011 at 01:33

    • Glad I can help, Jenn :-). Good luck and have fun!

      September 4, 2011 at 11:09

  5. hey, whats “eid “1432H”? :)

    September 4, 2011 at 10:27

    • Eid is one of the big day for Muslims. 1432H means year 1432 in Islamic Calendar (Hijri Calendar).
      You can read more detail at wikipedia (Eid ul-Fitr and Hijri Calendar).

      September 4, 2011 at 11:09

  6. Selamat Lebaran mister :D
    Mohon maaf lahir dan batin

    Maaf telat hehe :)

    September 4, 2011 at 10:48

    • Tidak masalah. Terima kasih, Fajar :-)… Mohon maaf lahir dan batin juga.

      September 4, 2011 at 11:10

Thougths, anyone?

