Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Dismount

S-Dismount-002DSC 0494-martosc

As the picture suggests, please get off your bike.



Side Story :

I remember I have mentioned somewhere in this blog, that Japanese culture is very visual-oriented.

There are a lot of custom signs that have funny characters in it.

It’s one of the things that interest me most when I first move here to Japan.

I can’t read Japanese words back then, I can’t read it still. However, the funny characters surely help me understand what the signs are trying to say.


*Koenji, Tokyo, Japan


7 responses

  1. Interesting.. :) And I like the monkey. :P

    August 29, 2011 at 01:22

    • Hahaha… yes, it was.

      I felt a bit offended when I first saw this — I’m not a monkey :D…
      but then, I realize I wasn’t riding my bike. So, all is good :D…

      August 29, 2011 at 10:22

  2. It makes sense given that Japan is big on anime/cutesy stuff, right? :).

    It’s a cute monkey – with a nice bike LOL.

    August 30, 2011 at 04:19

    • I guess so, Jenn. This makes me curious on the modern culture history of Japan :D.

      August 30, 2011 at 05:39

  3. Chloe [Photographer]

    i would love to travel to japan one day; it’s on my travel list <3
    cool photograph

    August 30, 2011 at 08:28

    • You should. Japan is a very nice place :-)
      If you come when we are still here, we can show you around.

      August 30, 2011 at 10:12

Thougths, anyone?

