Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Mount Fuji: Stars Over the Hill

S-Stars-over-the-hill-DSC 9655-martosc

Starry sky; something I would have to give up if I live in the city



Side Story :

Last week, we went to climb Mount Fuji. It was a great trip — something I would remember and tell, but not to do over again.

As stubborn and unwise as I could be, I brought most of my photography gears: 2 camera bodies (the other one is my wife’s), four lenses (left 85mm at home), flash, and of course, the bulk and heavy tripod. I brought them thinking that I will have time to take photo.

I was wrong.


Why?


I don’t have a lot of time to take photo because we were constantly on the move — and it is unwise to take photo during breaks, because you are suppose to take a rest. It takes time to take photo in the dark; it takes time to set the tripod, it takes time to take long exposure, and it takes time to re-compose a photo.

It was also useless to bring all the lenses. The wind was very strong up there, and I don’t want to risk the dirt/dust into the camera while I change the lens.

On the way down, the landscape was breathtaking. However, it was raining so the camera was in the bag for most of the time. Took several photos, but not very satisfied with the result.

In the end, I took more than 60 photos, but most of them are useless.

Anyway, I will post some of them this week. So, let this week be “Mount Fuji” week.

Hope you enjoy it :-)…



*Mt. Fuji, Yamanashi Prefecture, Japan



PS: The photo on this post was taken after we walk for just 10 minutes. I was still all pumped up :D.


15 responses

  1. mazing! :D

    August 2, 2011 at 20:31

  2. *amazing ! :D I’m sorry for mis typing -_-

    August 2, 2011 at 20:32

    • Thanks, mate.
      No worries… cheers!

      August 2, 2011 at 20:56

      • I wonder, why the sky here cannot be starry like in your photo -_-
        Your side story.. that’s why I don’t like hiking to hunt some photo, because the weather and the dust can damage my camera and also make the sensor is dirt, I hate the dust when they come in to my sensor -__-

        August 2, 2011 at 21:20

        • You have to go out of town, away from city to get this kind of photo. In order to see the stars in the sky, you need dark environment.
          The solution to ensure the dust/dirt doesn’t go in your sensor, is by not changing the lens on the field. So, use one lens only.

          August 2, 2011 at 21:30

  3. Super clear when I went! Couldn’t climb though… http://www.flickr.com/photos/marcofiori/5955544308/

    August 2, 2011 at 20:59

    • Thanks for sharing, Marco … I couldn’t take this kind of photo even if I want to; I was on the mountain :D…

      August 2, 2011 at 21:17

  4. Well, I would love to climb Mount Fuji, no matter what. :P
    Nevertheless, I hear you. Take less gear with you. :P
    But still, with that sky I would have just set-up camp, set-up tripod and camera and shoot a star trail… no matter what the wife says! :D

    August 2, 2011 at 21:11

    • Haha… well, the mountain is waiting for you, Helder. It opens on summer.
      I agree; setting-up a camp would make better sense for me, too. I actually think about going back there (or someplace similar) to shoot starry nights or star trail.

      August 2, 2011 at 21:25

  5. Beautiful photo! I live in the city, I’ve never seen that many stars.

    PS: Thanks for sharing the side story.

    August 2, 2011 at 23:37

    • Thanks, Jenn. Yeah, I guess that’s one of the consequences of living in the city :-(.

      August 3, 2011 at 08:48

  6. Wonderful Stars… really lovely

    August 3, 2011 at 21:19

    • Thanks, Didex. It could have been better.

      August 3, 2011 at 21:40

  7. holy moly, this shot was definitely worth the trip!!
    I think just the spectacle of a starry sky would evoke feelings of awesomeness in anyone…

    August 3, 2011 at 23:02

    • Cheers, Georgie… As I mention in the post, I took this photo after walking for just 10 minutes. It’s just the beginning of the trip :D… it is definitely worth the trip :-)

      August 3, 2011 at 23:47

Thougths, anyone?

