Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Grow Old with You

S-Grow-old-with-you-DSC 6691-martosc 01

“All my life, I’ve made a lot of mistakes. But this one I got it right. I love growing old with you”



Side Story :

There are a lot of things that interest me to shoot; pretty ladies (oops), classy gentlemen, fluffy and cute pets, cheerful children, etc.

But above all, I love to shoot old couples.

I want to learn portrait photography (with strobe?), special for senior citizen :D…



*Yamato-shi, Kanagawa, Japan


14 responses

  1. There’s definitely something special with couples who’ve been together most of their lives, it doesn’t seem to happen as often anymore. I really hope my and my wife will be one of those couples in 30-40 years.

    July 21, 2011 at 20:59

    • I certainly hope for the same thing, Rifqi.
      Hey, let’s make a deal. Let’s meet up 30-40 years from now. I’ll take a good photo of you and your wife, and you take a good photo of me and my wife. What do you think? :-)

      July 21, 2011 at 21:28

      • That’s a deal, as long as you make me look good :p Btw, I’ll second the Gregory Heisler recommendation below, the man knows light.

        July 21, 2011 at 22:25

        • Don’t you worry about that. I still have plenty of time to learn.
          If my calculation is right, in 30-40 years, I should be able to make good photos. :D

          July 21, 2011 at 22:35

  2. sweet

    July 21, 2011 at 20:59

    • It sure is :-)

      July 21, 2011 at 22:21

  3. The story behind it is wonderful. The concept of being married that long is rare nowadays. Hopefully I’ll make it! :)
    My favorite portrait photographer: http://www.gregoryheisler.com, check out his work.
    Now, about the picture, if you check your histogram I suspect the white is being clipped on the right.
    Maybe there was too much sun or direct light or you expose it a bit brighter than you should.. but this is just a suspicion of me.. :P

    July 21, 2011 at 22:05

    • Hope you can make it, Helder :-).
      Yes, it’s a bit clipped on the right — there are highlights on the her hat and hands. It’s a bit overexpose, I think.
      Thanks for the link to Gregory Heisler. I’ll check on his work. I hope I can learn something from him :-)…

      July 22, 2011 at 07:35

  4. Is that the Japanese equivalent of the British queen? Love the hat and white gloves :-)

    July 21, 2011 at 23:54

    • Well, if the British queen loves to walk around the neighborhood, then yes :-)…

      July 22, 2011 at 07:36

      • Kiyoshi

        wow,, you’re so good passing the queen’s security details..hahaha..
        nice pic.. feel the emotion

        July 22, 2011 at 10:28

        • Sneaking on the Queen is definitely a special skill, my friend :D…
          Thanks.

          July 22, 2011 at 11:14

  5. Wow.. captioning creativity – at its best :).

    July 27, 2011 at 01:43

    • Thanks, Jenn. I really appreciate it :-).

      July 27, 2011 at 16:46

Thougths, anyone?

