Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Barred Window

S-Barred-Window-Open-DSC 8009-martosc

Separating the yellowish inside, from the bluish outside



Side Story :

This photo was taken at the Gym with super-yellow lights. The lighting were extremely yellow that I cannot set proper white balance; even after I set it to the lowest Kelvin temperature, it still gives yellowish tone.

No choice; I have to set the white balance to the lowest and lessen the saturation — which explains why it is yellowish inside, and bluish outside.

Any thoughts how to solve this better?



*Oookayama, Tokyo, Japan


10 responses

  1. This is very interesting… so there is too much of a difference in white balance between the inside and outside light? I’ve never encountered that problem before! Perhaps you could use a bluish filter to get rid of the yellow?

    June 25, 2011 at 01:41

    • Bluish filter sounds good. Maybe I can try that on my other photos taken at the gym.

      For this photo, I think there is another way to solve this, which is to post-processed two photos: one with white balance set for the outside, and one with white balance set for the inside… put them in layers, add layer mask and merge the photos. But, like Rifqi said below, no need to change it. :D

      June 25, 2011 at 08:00

  2. Personally I think it’s the different colours and light that makes the image interesting, no need to change it. Quite like it.

    June 25, 2011 at 01:58

    • Actually, my question was not for this photo. I was asking how to solve a white balance that is, even when I set to the lowest temperature, still look yellowish. My solution that I have apply now is to lessen the saturation. Do you have other thoughts?

      *I wonder if pre-set White Balance can be lower than 2180K.

      June 25, 2011 at 08:04

  3. I also like the photo just the way it is. But if it disturbs you so much, then another solution (that not merging 2 dif photos) is to apply a mask on-top of the bluish part and compensate the color cast there.
    But to be honest, leave it as it is. :)

    July 3, 2011 at 11:09

    • Haha, thanks for the suggestion… but, as I mention earlier, my question was not for this photo. I was asking how to solve a white balance that is, even when I set to the lowest temperature, still look yellowish. My solution that I have apply now is to lessen the saturation. Do you have other thoughts?

      July 3, 2011 at 11:33

      • 2 suggestions:
        1) Use custom white balance. Point to something white that fills the whole frame and snap it. Use it as custom WB in machine. That should straight your temperature.
        2) Check your monitor. Is it correctly calibrated? Maybe you see yellow everyone because the tone casts are not ok..

        July 4, 2011 at 01:23

        • Thanks for the suggestions, especially suggestion #1. I should’ve done that in the first place…

          Suggestion #2, I will need a special tool for this, won’t I? …

          July 4, 2011 at 06:57

          • For calibration, yes. You need some kind of calibrator (hardware) that you can plug-in and run a piece of software that will create a correct profile for your color tones. Here’s the one I use at home: http://www.amazon.co.uk/X-Rite-EODIS2-Eye-One-Display/dp/B000JLO31M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1309791022&sr=8-1. But Spider is also good.

            The alternative (no extra hardware involved) is to do it manually by eye and comparing the colors and gradients by using JPEG images.
            If you google it you might find some sites that try to mimic this manual calibration.

            Obviously I recommend the usage of a calibrator. :-) It’s money well spent.

            July 4, 2011 at 23:55

            • Comparing manually is not a good idea, I think… and calibrator is another investment. Now is not a very good time… I have another purchase in mind hahaha…

              Thanks for the info, Helder :-)…

              July 5, 2011 at 07:09

Thougths, anyone?

