Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Kyoto Tower

Kyoto-tower-DSC 5025-martosc

Tall on blue



Side Story :

This is the first portrait orientation photo that I publish here.

Well, the reason I have never post one is because this wide WordPress theme is best for landscape orientation photo.

And, knowing that I mostly post my shots here, I seldom shoot in portrait orientation. I shoot in landscape orientation almost exclusively.

I only shoot in portrait orientation when I really have to.


To be honest, this doesn’t look good. Using small picture as thumbnail would be more reasonable choice, but I won’t like it either.

Oh well. I don’t think I will post anything with portrait orientation here again.



*Kyoto, Japan


14 responses

  1. Why do you say it doesn’t look good? I like the portrait orientation… also forces us to see the world differently and look out for new perspectives ;-)

    June 11, 2011 at 22:54

    • I’m emphasizing the portrait orientation in this photoblog. Unless you are using a (very) high resolution monitor you can’t see the photo in one ‘page’. You’d have to scroll down to see it from end to end. That doesn’t sound fun to me.

      As I mentioned earlier, using smaller photo size or thumbnail would make better sense… but I don’t like the fact that I’m not fully utilize the space/width of this photoblog :D… so, I think I’m going to stick with landscape orientation :D…

      June 11, 2011 at 23:06

  2. Reaching high to the sky!

    June 11, 2011 at 23:07

    • Yes it was :-)
      Did you take a picture of it when you are in Kyoto, Marco?

      June 12, 2011 at 00:38

      • Yes I did actually! Not as good as this one. I also missed the chance to go up it :(

        June 13, 2011 at 03:26

        • I didn’t go up there either. I don’t even know that it’s possible to go up there :D… haha…

          June 13, 2011 at 07:25

  3. My girlfriend always makes fun of me because I’m hesitant to take a photo in portrait orientation, but I agree with you. I never like the way it turns out, especially on my blog, which has an 800 pixel-wide column. I think I tend to “see” things in landscape orientation, so when I’m looking to take a picture, that’s always my first instinct.

    June 12, 2011 at 04:10

    • I think we have the same preference and instinct here, Drew. Thanks for the comment :D… Now I know that I’m not alone haha…

      June 12, 2011 at 08:11

  4. i have been here!
    i have been here! :)

    June 12, 2011 at 21:21

  5. tiffatora

    in contrary, i like vertical/portrait composition. i think many pictures in my blog are in portrait orientation, aren’t they?

    you are really doing good with landscape composition. i want to see more portrait photo from you, but i guess i will not see that because of this WordPress theme :D

    July 5, 2011 at 21:43

    • Thanks, Tiffa…
      Yes, yours are mostly in portrait orientation.
      No, I don’t have plans to post portrait shots in this photo-blog (yet)… but, when I do, I will let you know :D…

      July 5, 2011 at 22:05

Thougths, anyone?

