Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Charity Concert

S-Charity-Concert-01-DSC 7094-martosc

Waiting in the dark



S-Charity-Concert-02-DSC 7086-martosc

For rainbow-y performance



Last Saturday, I went to a Charity Concert; Tokyo Gospel Choir Concert.

The main purpose is to see (and take photos of) my elder sister. She’s a member of the music school who performs that night.

However, the plan didn’t go very well.

Unfortunately, she was standing in the corner and a little too short to be stand out. 

Sure, I can move up and take the photo from afar. But my longest lens is 85mm; not long enough.

Anyway, show must go on, so I took shots of other people instead :D

These are my favorites:


S-Charity-Concert-03-DSC 7052-martosc

My favorite subject of the day. I love his energy and expression. Took a lot of his photos…


S-Charity-Concert-04-DSC 7032-martosc

Love how she enjoys the melody, definitely love her smile too…


S-Charity-Concert-05-DSC 7102-martosc

A little too revealing for gospel?


S-Charity-Concert-06-DSC 7145-martosc

And it was ended with all hands in the air…


I hope the donation gathered will help a lot of people.



Side Story:

The official photographer for that concert was using two Nikon cameras. If I’m not wrong, they were D3s and D700, and one of the lenses is 70-200mm f/2.8.

I was drooling.

If only I can speak Japanese, I might talk to him for discussion — and perhaps borrow and try his gears. Haha!


PS: Yes, the first photo on this post is actually taken at the beginning of the second period; hence the clothes are white :D.



*Zero Hall, Nakano, Tokyo, Japan


15 responses

  1. Nice shots! :) My favorites: 2nd photo (because I can see the group and I like the colors in the background) and the last photo (because of the dynamics of people raising hands).

    PS: concerning the “revealing” one, there’s no such thing as too much revealing for gospel.. :) to be honest, there’s no such thing as too much revealing period. :)))) *cute girl*

    May 30, 2011 at 21:28

    • Thanks! … I don’t have favorite amongst these; I like them all :D…

      PS: Bwahahahahaha… did your wife know you write this, Helder? :D

      May 31, 2011 at 09:58

      • I tell her the same thing when she asks me how does she look when trying new outfits. :P :)

        May 31, 2011 at 17:58

        • Hahahaha… nice touch :D…
          I think I can learn more than just photography from you, Helder :-)

          May 31, 2011 at 21:12

  2. The dark crowd is great, such an unusual perspective!

    May 31, 2011 at 07:44

    • Thanks, Marco.

      I guess this is one of the benefit of shooting manual. I’m still learning and practicing it, though.

      May 31, 2011 at 10:01

  3. Helder is right, there’s no such thing as too revealing, not even for gospel, these days expect to see anything, hahah..

    At what ISO did you shoot these?

    D3s, D700 and a 70-200? Nah, I’m fine with what i have……. yeah right :D

    May 31, 2011 at 13:04

    • Expect to see anything? Okay then, I’ll photograph those more :D…

      All of these are at ISO 1600.

      Yeah, right… :D… I don’t think I will ever justify myself to buy those things… but wouldn’t mind borrowing and get them for free (as prize or something hehehe)…

      May 31, 2011 at 13:16

  4. These shots are rally well executed! I find capturing shows extremely difficult!

    May 31, 2011 at 16:02

    • Thank you, Chris.

      This is actually my first time shooting a performance (on stage). And, in my opinion, it’s easier to shoot in manual mode than aperture priority/speed priority. The results are more consistent.

      May 31, 2011 at 21:10

  5. Pingback: Parenting Moments #002 « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

  6. Tari

    WHERE IS TARI!!!!!!

    June 2, 2011 at 21:25

    • I guess I have to repeat myself here: “Unfortunately, she was standing in the corner and a little too short to be stand out.”

      Not my fault, though :P…

      June 2, 2011 at 21:33

      • hikkkkkkkkkkkkkkksssssssssssssssssssssss

        June 22, 2011 at 13:44

Thougths, anyone?

