Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

100 People with Phone #046

Phone046-DSC 6925-martosc-s

Seriously, how many of you did see the guy(s) with phone as the title suggested, when there is such a huge distraction (attraction?)? :D



By the way, I just learn the word “Hyna”. It means good looking girl according to this .



Side Story:

I finally bought the kit lens (AF-S 18-55mm VR). It’s a used item, but Nikon warranty still valid until April 2012; not a bad bargain for JPY 8,800. Well, it is not as good as my prime lenses, but at least now I have a ‘wide angle’ lens that is not as heavy and bulky as the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8.

I also bought a used tripod. It’s a 15 years old (approximately) Slik Able 300DX for JPY 1,500. It’s heavy, but solid as a rock! It was more of an impulse buying; mostly because of the (rather) cheap price.

Anyway, now I’m ready to explore and learn some Night and Landscape Photography… No more excuses :P… *except that I often too lazy to do it :D…



*Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan


17 responses

  1. I see, so you went ahead and got that lens after all. I’m still hoping Nikon will release a 12 or 14mm dx prime so I don’t have to save for the 10-24 :p Btw, my wife knew about the crab place you told me about in Balikpapan, might go there when we’re over.

    May 30, 2011 at 01:59

    • I sure did :D… I haven’t got the time to actually use it, so no comment on the performance yet.

      12 or 14mm DX prime sounds interesting. However, I’m afraid “affordable” and “wide angle lens” don’t mixed well =(. Might as well go with old Ai or Ai-s prime lenses. I never tried one myself, so I’m not sure it’s a good choice (yet).

      Great! Don’t forget to send some of those crabs to Japan :D…

      May 30, 2011 at 02:17

  2. Fokus terbesar tertuju pada iklan Hyna! :D

    May 30, 2011 at 10:48

    • Thank you for telling us, Captain Obvious :-)

      May 30, 2011 at 10:59

  3. I actually saw the guy first, but only cause for some reason it rendered faster than the poster. ahahah :))

    And congratulations to your buys! Have fun with the new lens and tripod! :)

    Looking forward to see those night landscape photos. ;-)

    May 30, 2011 at 18:30

    • Hahaha! Then what did you see after the photo is fully rendered?

      Thanks! I can’t promise it will be anytime soon though.

      Skill doesn’t come overnight, and it will need more than normal skill to overcome my laziness :D…

      May 30, 2011 at 18:59

      • Of course that after the rendering my eyes were drawn to this Hyna.. can control it, it’s bigger than me eheheh :))

        About the laziness… take your wife with you.. promise her a romantic night looking at the stars while the camera is doing a long exposure… then she will become your motivation to stay up at night and “force” you to go with her ;-). Works for me. :P

        May 30, 2011 at 19:05

        • Hahaha! Good idea :D…

          I don’t have to promise her anything romantic, though… because she likes photography too and landscape is actually her interest.

          May 30, 2011 at 19:51

          • Good to know, but still.. I would add the romantic part too. ;-)

            May 30, 2011 at 21:10

            • Oh well, another skill that I have to learn to master: “How to be a romantic guy” :D…

              May 30, 2011 at 21:26

        • Qno

          Great idea Helder. Please do tell him to do that. It’s been very difficult to drag him out of the house even for a date at nearby park.

          # the wife :D

          May 30, 2011 at 20:53

          • Well, that’s not entirely true :D…

            *whispering* Honey, you ruining my reputation here…

            May 30, 2011 at 21:09

          • :-)))

            May 30, 2011 at 21:10

  4. No chance. I’d be distracted beyond belief.

    May 31, 2011 at 07:22

    • Haha! … Gotcha! :D…

      May 31, 2011 at 10:01

  5. thanks for looking through my post!!! The ad in the photo is the elizabeth hurley pose in some movie. And yes, i did notice the guy with the phone…

    Cheers,
    georgie

    PS. your initials GM?

    May 31, 2011 at 15:35

    • “PS. your initials GM?”

      Well, sort of.

      My real name is C**** Martos****** (hence the userID: MartosC), but my friends call me G***. So, most people know me by the name G*** Martos******… and I often time put [Gm] as my e-mail signature :-)…

      Thanks for the visit and comment, Georgie :-)

      May 31, 2011 at 21:34

Thougths, anyone?

