Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Delicacy on Delivery

Delicacy-on-delivery-DSC 6293-martosc-s

This guy just took it to a whole new level



Side Story:

I start my photography journey in November 2009, when I first moved to Japan and thinking of getting a hobby.

I learn it autodidact, mostly through forum and online discussion — and don’t forget all those trials and errors.

It was fun, but also comes with contradicting information. This is the downside of online discussion; sometimes the information comes without good reference.

I think it’s time for me to read a photography book, at least for good and solid reference. I just bought Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. I hope it can help me to produce better (and consistently better) photos.


What about you? How do you learn photography? Any book recommendation?



*Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan


9 responses

  1. Nice shot. He must have a great balance. :)

    Like you I’ve learned doing online research and with trial/error.
    Although I started early reading books and eBooks. So I know a few.
    But to be able to recommend one to you I first need to understand what is that you want to learn first. :) Is it more basics? More advanced? Focus on composition? Focus on Lightning and exposure? Focus on night photography? Focus on Landscape photography?… etc etc… so as you can see, there are a lot of options here. :)

    May 12, 2011 at 22:22

    • He should have a great balance. I wonder if he will get fired or salary-cut if he got into ‘accident’ :D…

      What I want to learn is how to get the right exposure, every time.

      After reading “Understanding Exposure” (I upload this post several days ago, so I’m almost finish reading it), I have some new information on how to meter the right exposure. I think most of the tips are applicable for Landscape Photography, but some of them can also be used for Street or Urban Photography as well.

      In summary, I’m happy with the purchase and I would recommend this book.

      So, anyway, do you have any other suggestion? eBook would be best :D… Thanks.

      May 12, 2011 at 22:38

      • Here’s my selection:

        “Hard” Books:

        – The Book of Digital Photography by Chris George – has a pretty good coverage from basics to intermediate. It was my startup book. Good to explain several concepts.

        – Lighting by David Prakel – too theorical but good if you want to learn everything about light, types of light, how to use them, etc.

        – Exposure by David Prakel – also too theorical but very good about exposure, compensation, etc.

        – Composition by David Prakel – very good to learn composition rules and sceneries that work best to the human eye.

        – Extreme Exposure by David Nightingale – excellent tips on night photography

        – Practical HDR by David Nightingale – HDR as the title says… uses Photomatrix.

        – Digital Landscape Photography by Michael Frye – Really Good as he explains the Ansel Adams Zone System (good to know if you don’t want to miss one exposure and be right on the first try. :) )

        Sites with great online stuff:

        http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/ – the best of the best. They don’t publish often but when they do, they really explain how things work.

        http://www.digital-photography-school.com/ – always with nice articles from known photographers.

        http://strobist.blogspot.com/ – if you want to use flash, follow his blog and learn with the best.

        eBooks:

        http://craftandvision.com/ – several eBooks most of them about the Vision and not really the Technique.

        http://www.about-photography.com/ – check the Flash eBook. One of the best I’ve read.

        And that’s it.. at least what I can recall now by heart. :)

        May 13, 2011 at 17:40

        • Woowww… thank you very much, Helder.
          This is a long and wonderful list; it must take a long time to write them down.

          Again, thank you very much, Helder. I really appreciate it. Cheers!

          May 13, 2011 at 18:52

          • You’re welcome.
            I’m sure there are a lot more good books/references but these are the ones I know by experience.
            Have fun. ;-)

            May 13, 2011 at 19:37

  2. windu

    Total dedication!!!!
    One of the reasons why i admire japanese…

    May 12, 2011 at 23:46

    • Agreed, they sure have dedication on whatever job they have.

      May 13, 2011 at 08:20

  3. ini tuh lebih yahud di banding uda di rumah makan bunda kanduang!

    May 19, 2011 at 19:41

    • Weits… jangan meremehkan dulu, Om Rifat. Uda belum pernah coba aja antar-antar makanan model begini…

      *komentar sampeyan dobel. Yang satu lagi aku apus yah… maap :-)

      May 19, 2011 at 19:53

Thougths, anyone?

