Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Waiting is Boring

Waiting-is-Boring-DSC 6240-martosc-s

Cell-phones and Books, your best travel-buddy when you are commuting alone. Wouldn’t you prefer a real friend, instead?


Side story:

Below, I have another version of the photo; with different crop size and ratio (16×9). I was torn because I like both.

Waiting-is-Boring-DSC 6240-martosc 01-s


I finally decided that the 6×4 crop ratio is somewhat better.

What do you think?



*Suzukakedai Station, Tokyo, Japan


7 responses

  1. Stick to the original I say. I’m not a big fan of crops unless absolutely necessary. Odd crops might look nice on screen but will be a nightmare when you want to print / exhibit.

    Nice pic btw.

    May 11, 2011 at 01:17

    • As always, am very thankful for the insight, Christakis.

      Yes, I agree that it will be troublesome to print when the photo was cropped (non-standard). But, I already have the solution: I give black borders to turn it back to the original ratio :D… it will eat up the black ink, though :D…

      May 11, 2011 at 09:26

  2. It very impressive that you are able to churn out such quality photos and posts every day!

    I must say I’m also torn between the two. I like both of them, but for me the second one works better for your blog. I guess it might be due to the fact that you have a black background which seems to reduce the impact created by the dark void below the platform.

    May 11, 2011 at 15:25

    • Thanks, Chris.

      I’m sure you are aware that the photos were not pictures I took every each day.

      I take my camera everywhere I go. When I have time, I probably took 30-40 photos at one go; and some 5-7 of them make it here in the blog.

      Although I have 5-7 ‘keepers’, I don’t process and post them all in one day. I think this method will give me time to be more selective on what I publish, and also give me time not to rush on the post-processing.

      I have so much fun in producing and sharing the photos, and felt honored when someone appreciate it. Thank you.

      May 11, 2011 at 15:57

  3. I prefer the first photo. Gives more hints on the place.
    About the cellphone or book or friend… it depends on the mood I guess. :)

    May 11, 2011 at 18:35

    • Good point, Helder. I didn’t realize that, if I didn’t tell that it was at the station, viewer won’t know where it was.

      I guess it’s better to travel with companion, and also with book and cell-phone. That way, you have all when you need one :D…

      May 11, 2011 at 18:57

  4. Pingback: 100 People with Phone #048 « MartosC, [Gm] – v2.0

Thougths, anyone?

