Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Crossing Umbrella

Crossing-Umbrella-DSC 3930-martosc-s

Umbrella; under the rain and over the stripes


Side note :

The photo was taken last February. It was still winter time, and it was raining snowflakes that day.

If you wonder about the sparkling thing on the road, that’s not snow. I thought it was, but turns out it was some sparkling material planted on the road/crossing.

Perhaps to make it sparkly at night so drivers would notice the crossing?



*Machida, Tokyo, Japan



4 responses

  1. I like the heavy contrast. I see that the photo is somewhat underexposed (you can’t see details on the blacks) but I like it this way. It enhances the visual contrast between the stripes and the person.

    May 8, 2011 at 18:55

    • … and probably, some of the details are missing also because I missed the focus hehehe… :D…

      But, yeah, in the end, I like how it turned out to be.

      As always, thanks for the constructive comment, Helder :-)

      May 8, 2011 at 19:08

  2. Love the heavy shadows. The lines leading to the person really make the composition work.

    May 10, 2011 at 00:29

    • Thank you, Mike. I just wished the focus was tack sharp :D… as I mentioned earlier, I missed on this one :-(

      May 10, 2011 at 07:04

Thougths, anyone?

