Capturing the mundane to create interesting stories

Lost & Found

Lost&Found-DSC 6117-Gms

When you lost something, just trace back your steps; it will be there waiting for you



One good thing about Japan is, normally, people will not take something that isn’t theirs; and these photos are the evidences.

The yellow apron and the red-polkadot hair tie were probably accidentally dropped by the owner, or perhaps got flown away by the wind.

Lost&Found-DSC 4803-Gms


I guess, for most of the case, Japan is not a country of “finders, keepers” mentality.

Here, when you find something on the street that doesn’t belong to you, the normal reaction would be:

  • Just leave it as it is
  • Put it somewhere high and open, so it will be visible for the owner when they start looking for them
  • If it is valuable (like watch, wallet, etc), bring the item to the nearest Police Station


Please note that this is not always the case, but I like the statistic probability to find something I lost, here in Japan.

Just like my personal experience, about two weeks ago.


On my way to my wife’s campus for Friday praying, the wind was blowing really hard. I decided to put my cap into my jacket pocket.

Unlucky, I didn’t tuck it in deep enough; it was flown by the wind, but I only notice it after I reach the building. I was already late. I don’t have time to go back and look for it.

About 45 minutes later, I walk home tracing my path with a glimpse of hope to find my hat again.

And there it is, my old cap.

Lost&FoundDSC 5732-Gms

Someone was actually kind enough to put a stone on top of the hat, probably to prevent the hat blown further away.


*Kanagawa, Japan

10 responses

  1. Really interesting the cultural differences we all have. I think I like the Japanese one. :)

    The first photo is my favorite, although I understand that at least for you, the last photo is the more meaningful. :)

    May 3, 2011 at 21:56

    • Yes, it is different and very interesting. But, I have to say that every culture has its own plus and minus points. Nothing is perfect. Japanese culture is also not perfect.

      Haha, yes, you guess it right. For sentimental reason, the last photo is the most meaningful for me. That hat is my favorite hat for many years. :D

      May 3, 2011 at 22:22

  2. Nice shots! I like the way the color of the scarf matches the person in the background in the second shot. The effect of your story is illustrated well by only having people in the background of the shots.

    May 3, 2011 at 23:50

    • Thank you, Chris. I really appreciate your kind words :-)

      May 3, 2011 at 23:57

  3. Luckily for you you found your cap. Luckily for us you had your camera. Nice shots.

    I like the entire package of your delivery. The pictures, captions, and story all compliment each other perfectly in this post.

    May 5, 2011 at 15:54

    • Yes, it’s luck; lucky to live in Japan :D.
      I always bring my camera, everywhere I go :-).

      Thanks for the kind words, Phizzat.

      May 5, 2011 at 16:29

  4. Di Indonesia, bakal langsung hilang. :mad:

    May 6, 2011 at 15:49

    • Mengapa komentarnya harus begitu negatif?

      May 6, 2011 at 15:52

  5. 34

    “gone with the win” is never happening there ya? hebat. layak ditiru.

    May 8, 2011 at 11:16

    • I wouldn’t say ‘never’… because sh*t still happened :D…

      May 8, 2011 at 11:29

Thougths, anyone?

